Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

Welcome to my Classroom March 16, 2010

Filed under: education,just for fun,Kindergarten,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 9:13 pm

Hello, and welcome to my classroom!

First, allow my to introduce myself.  I am a second-year kindergarten teacher.  I have been wrestling with whether or not I love or hate my profession.  There are days I find teaching incredibly fulfilling and would not trade it for the world.  On the other hand, there are days that parents are complaining non-stop, new rules and budget restraints are being enforced, students seem to have eaten enough sugar to fuel a jet, and the world just seems genuinely against me.

The purpose of my blog is to allow parents, other teachers, and the general public a candid glimpse into what it is truly like to be a teacher.  Some feel we are over paid and under worked, though of course there are critics for everything.  The consensus among teachers is, of course, that we are underpaid and over worked.  (You’re not surprised, I’m sure.)  I must say I have felt both ways.  Some days when there are no emergencies with students, parents are praising instead of criticizing, and I’m lucky enough to leave by 3:45 PM (school ends at 3:15), I can’t believe I get paid to teach.   Some days when I am in grueling meetings with parents, students are testing the rules in every possible way, and another budget cut has been announced, I go home and search for new jobs.

By joining me in my experiences, you will see the truthful ups and downs of teaching.  I promise not to give you the simplified answer of, “I love my job!  Children are great!”.  I will be honest and upfront, no matter how hairy things may get.

So, I look forward to this journey together and I hope you’ll step into my classroom for the ride.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

Leave a Reply

