Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

Quirky Kids March 22, 2010

Filed under: education,just for fun,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 10:42 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I forget how funny, insightful, and just plain wonderful kids can be.

It’s so easy to become jaded and allow each day to fade together without realizing how much life there is in my students and in children in general.  They say amazing things every day but I often forget those things rather quickly.  Instead I worry about meetings after school, a parent I have to get back to, or how to raise a child’s reading level.

On the first day of school this year, a student’s mother was late.  To help him keep from worrying, I joked around with him and said, “If you stay here, you’re going to have to make me dinner!”  Instead of giving me a weird look or ignoring the statement altogether, he enthusiastically chimed, “Okay! What should we make?”  He went on to tell me that his favorite foods were chicken and macaroni and cheese, and decided we should make both.  As we walked to the office to wait for his mother, he saw the other students remaining in the school and declared we should make enough food for the entire school.  “We have a lot of work to do!”  he exclaimed.

I know if I make a conscious effort to remember these moments and treasure them, I will be able to enjoy my profession and my students more.

These moments are precious.  At the close of each week, I will strive to step back and note more than just my teaching practice, but my students and their quirky personalities as well.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

2 Responses to “Quirky Kids”

  1. crissyzart Says:

    I just got through perusing your blog and I can’t believe how much i was nodding to myself. I just graduated college in 2008 and have been working at a before and afterschool program since teaching jobs are scarce where I am and even harder to find because I narrowed myself to my love (Art). Somedays I feel like I’m cheating the district with how easy my job is and others I feel like I should be getting paid at least double what they’re giving me. I’m going to ‘follow’ your blog and hopefully I’ll be posting more about my job in the future.

    • Thank you for the comment. It feels great to hear someone agree with the feelings I’m having. I graduated college in 2008 as well and understand how scare teaching jobs are. I give you such credit for teaching before and aftercare, as children in those programs are tired after a long day of following rules. I can’t wait to hear more from you, and I look forward to reading your blog as well.


Leave a Reply

