Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

Spring Break: A Great Perk of Teaching March 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 2:16 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I think I’m more excited about spring break than my students.

In Kindergarten, usually the students love school and are upset when they don’t get to go.  At 3:15 this past Friday, every teacher was thrilled knowing we get to sleep in, have personal lives, and do whatever we need during this week off.

I must admit I do get bored during time off, but as it is only my second day off and I spent much of yesterday with family, I have not been bored yet.  I have a lot of work to do for graduate school courses (English as a Second Language certification) and some lesson planning to complete, but otherwise I plan to shop and see my friends.  I am so excited to shirk some adult responsibilities for the week!

As for my students, I have given them a “journal” assignment to keep them occupied.  In this journal, they must write an “entry” each day over break.  I hope the parents have their children do this diligently so they do not regress over break.

Spring break is absolutely a great perk of being a teacher!

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

Leave a Reply

