Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

My Brain is on Spring Break April 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 8:52 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: My students returned from break more refreshed than I did.

I know spring break is supposed to help revive you from the daily pressures of work or school.  And, as I mentioned in my last post, I generally get bored when I have time off.  However, I think I may have left my brain behind on spring break and only brought my body to work today.

It was very difficult for me to get back into the swing of things.  I am fortunate that my students were as focused as they were, since I, too, found myself gazing out the window, wishing I could be outside on this beautiful day instead of inside singing about the months of the year.

Reality has not fully hit me yet.  I enjoyed getting in bed later than 9:30 PM and being able to go to bed without worrying whether lessons will go wrong or parents will complain.  (I didn’t sleep so well last night… nightmares about work and students’ parents can be surprisingly realistic.)  I am happy to report that today went very smoothly, but my brain is still somewhere else on vacation, while my body feels the full weight of the return to school.

I must admit, the countdown has begun.  It sounds so sweet to say:
8 more Mondays until summer vacation!

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

Leave a Reply

