Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

I Did It Again. May 4, 2010

Filed under: education,Kindergarten,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 1:28 am

Candid Teacher Admits: I said I’d kill a spider again, and I did.

For the second time in a few months, a spider was in my classroom.  The students alerted me to it during “free play” time at the end of the day.

This was not an average sized spider.  This was one of those huge, HAIRY spiders that many people fear will climb into their beds while they sleep.

I turned around from my nemesis (yes, the spider) to face the same student who insightfully asked me why I killed the spider last time who, as she put it, wasn’t doing anything wrong to us.  I said to her, “I’m going to kill this spider.  Okay sweetheart?”  She replied, without hesitation, “Okay,”

Am I disheartening her?  Or did my shallow logic of, “The spider is inside and it doesn’t belong here,” actually work?
Score:
1 shallow logic

I owe the student yet another apology.  And while I’m at it, I feel it’s only right for me to extend an apology to the remains of the spider on the bottom of my brown flat.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

3 Responses to “I Did It Again.”

  1. Douja Says:

    Haha love your writing!

  2. Lol, loved yr apology concept 😉

    H.


Leave a Reply

