Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

In Need of Advice May 11, 2010

Filed under: education,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 12:56 am

Candid Teacher Admits: I feel out of practice!

I have an interview tomorrow in a very well-off area.  I feel so fortunate and ecstatic to have an interview so quickly after getting the horrible news almost 3 weeks ago.

I’m so nervous because I know opportunities are quite rare, but I’m allowing myself to feel extra pressure because this particular town is so ritzy.  Though it’s terrible to stereotype, I keep envisioning myself shaking hands with a well-manicured man and woman who look down their noses at me because I look very young and well… simple.

In addition, it has been quite some time since I’ve been on an interview.  When I graduated college 2 years ago, I went on a slew of interviews – about 7 in the course of 3 weeks.  I fed off the adrenaline and actually enjoyed interviewing.  Now, I’m nervous and timid.  As I review possible interview questions and attempt to prepare answers, I feel out of place – even in my own mind.

Can anyone offer a bit of last-minute advice?  Whether it be on answering interview questions, staying calm, or dressing for success, anything would be welcome.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

3 Responses to “In Need of Advice”

  1. I worked in HR management – Recruiting. (no, not bragging :D)
    Last minute adv.: re-research the school and pinpoint 5-6 items about it + ask yrself int Q.`s and answer them while looking in the mirror or simply out loud, repeat it 2 – 3 times.

    Hope that helps! usually it works to calm one down + focus.

    Best of luck,

    H.

  2. Douja Says:

    Your going to great.. Calm,Cool,Collected just repeat that!
    Be confident and sure of yourself, and most importantly be yourself, oh and make sure to shake hands, it sounds silly but I’m telling you that is pretty big!

    best of luck!!!
    Douja


Leave a Reply

