Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

My Class is Cuter Than Yours May 17, 2010

Filed under: education,just for fun,Kindergarten,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 9:04 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I feel like a proud mom; “My kid is the ____!” (Insert cutest, best, smartest, most talented, and so forth in the blank.)

Some days, I feel like a proud mom and secretly hope my students slip and call me “mom”.  While they do call me this occasionally, it never happens often enough!

Today was one of those days.  As I observed my students during snack I thought, “The kids in my class are so much cuter than any other Kindergarten class in this building.”  Then I realized I felt that way about last year’s students as well.

Though I have kids who push my buttons and wear me down so much all I can think about doing is sleeping once I get home, when I step back and look at the class as a whole, I feel such pride.  These are my kids, and I will truly miss them next year.  (Of course, I do realize it will be a lot easier to miss them once I don’t have to deal with their tantrums and “personalities”.)    It’s so heart-wrenching to know that I won’t get to see them grow next year.  Not only that, but I won’t get to see my students from last year advance to second grade and blossom even more.

I know they’ll all go on and be fine without me and eventually, I’ll be fine without them.  But every day I give my students pieces of myself.  I hope they’ll take good care of those pieces and carry them with them forever.  I know I’ll always hold onto fragments from each and every student as well.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

“I appreciate all that I am and all that I have.”

 

Leave a Reply

