Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

Don’t Make Me Go Back May 19, 2010

Filed under: education,Kindergarten,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 10:59 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I don’t want to go back to teaching my class tomorrow!

I spent yesterday and today meeting the incoming Kindergarten students for the 2010-2011 school year and screening them to see if they were prepared for Kindergarten.  Each assessment takes about 20-30 minutes to administer, and it involves the child completing tasks such as counting, creating & continuing patterns, shape identification, following directions, name writing, cutting, and identifying initial sounds.  Though I know I will not have any of these students next year (which I was relieved about in some cases, but disappointed about for others),  it was a welcome break from the classroom.

Lately, 3 of my students have been driving me up the wall.
Student A: Thrives on NEGATIVE attention.  No matter how much positive attention I slather this child with, he screams, whines, stomps the floor, hits the table, hurts friends, and refuses to work.  I’m at my wits end and am out of resources.  I’ve tried everything I can think of and NOTHING seems to be working.  Even my support team is stumped with him, and his parents don’t want to “suppress” his personality… but it’s not a personality thing at this point- it’s a major disruption!

Student B: Has aspergers.  Without a doubt.  The parents will not admit it and will not get the child the help required.  I need more strategies.  A doctor’s opinion & advice would be so useful, but despite the urging of me and several other staff members, the parents remain in denial and will not take the child to a doctor to learn strategies for meeting their child’s needs.

Student C: Is late nearly every day.  Mom curses at school staff in front of the child, using the “f word”, when forced to sign the child in or is denied breakfast when she rolls in at 9:30 AM (school begins at 8:50).  The recent change in the child’s schedule has caused struggles in the classroom, which mom thinks she has no responsibility to deal with.

So, you can see why after 2 days away from these students, I simply don’t want to go back.  The last 2 days have been peaceful and relatively relaxing.

Adding to this is a slew of (yay!) 3 interviews I have coming up.  One is for a new charter school that will be opening in September 2010.  The principal would like to come into my classroom to observe me.  I am very worried about these students, especially “Student A”, who thrives on attention and pulls out all the terrible stops when a visitor comes in.

Yikes.  I know I’ll get through it, but for now, all I can do is take a big breath and hold it until June 17th, the last day of school.

Then, I will exhale.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

2 Responses to “Don’t Make Me Go Back”

  1. Douja Says:

    I hope everything works out for you, and who knows maybe you can make a difference in these kids lives

  2. Teaching IS a demanding job, by alllll means.
    I hope things turn for the best in your work.

    H.


Leave a Reply

