Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

Ah Hah! May 27, 2010

Filed under: education,just for fun,Kindergarten,teaching,Uncategorized — candidteacher @ 10:50 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I like teaching Kindergarten.

This may seem like an odd statement since I’ve taught Kindergarten the past two years.  However, going on interviews for Kindergarten and other grade levels has made me realize that I enjoy the Kindergarten curriculum and child.  I know a piece of that is due to the fact that I’m now comfortable with the curriculum and the expectations of a Kindergarten student, but I also really enjoy teaching social and beginning academic skills.

I get to teach students how to speak at appropriate volumes, make eye contact, use words to problem solve, make and maintain friendships, and help them develop into independent thinkers.  It’s gratifying to know that when they leave my classroom, they will have manners and respect.  (Well, I’ve tried to teach that anyway.  They SHOULD have manners and respect.)

Also, I get to sing and reward them with “dance parties” and stickers, so really, that’s pretty sweet too.

Social skills are so important in their lives now and in their futures in the workplace.  I’m glad I get to play a role in shaping them in that way.

Yours,

Candid Teacher

 

One Response to “Ah Hah!”

  1. Haitham Al-Sheeshany Says:

    Loving what you do, doing what you love 😉

    H.


Leave a Reply

