Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

I’ll Take Some Blame, But Not All Of It May 3, 2011

Filed under: education,just for fun,teaching — candidteacher @ 8:37 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I’m immature, so I’m the first to laugh at passing gas or a joke about it.  But if you try to blame me when it isn’t my fault, that just isn’t happening.

When I started this blog, I thought I’d tell my point of view (in a candid manner, get it?) but in a “mature” sort of fashion.  Well, that has quickly flown out the window.  In order for me to write about this incident, I don’t have enough composure to get through it without a few giggles.  Here we go.

A few days ago, I was working with my fifth graders.  That day, I only had two present: one girl and one boy.  The girl was sitting next to me and the boy was across from me.  As they were reading, someone very clearly passed gas.  They both froze and so did I- let’s face it, sometimes I forget I’m the adult.  After a moment of impressing myself by not laughing out loud, I said, “Don’t worry about it.  It happens to everyone,” and continued with the lesson.  Dealing with this without letting a chuckle slide through was very difficult, and I silently congratulated myself for this victory.

After a beat, the girl stopped reading mid-sentence to say, “Wait, who was that anyway?”  I wanted to say, “SERIOUSLY? It was YOU and don’t try to blame it on either one of us!!”  In another victory for myself, I pretended to be mature.  The best I could come up with was, “Just let it go.”

SERIOUSLY.

While I’m easygoing about this stuff, I will not take the blame for you.  Yes, I know cafeteria lunch can be brutal, but teachers shouldn’t have to suffer for your humility!  Let it go.  Only three people including you witnessed it, so be happy for that.

What would you have done?

Yours,
Candid Teacher

 

Leave a Reply

