Candid Teacher's Classroom

The view from the other side of the desk.

It’s Official: I’m the luckiest person in the world! June 16, 2011

Filed under: Budget,education,teaching — candidteacher @ 11:23 pm

Candid Teacher Admits: I don’t know how it happened, but it’s OK with me.

As you know, I’ve been applying and interviewing for new jobs like crazy since I found out about losing my current job at the end of this school year.  My phone has been ringing constantly and I have been on interviews for 6 different districts.

3 of the districts offered me a job.

Offer 1- Literacy Coach – 1 year position working with teachers (not students) on the implementation of a new reading program.
Offer 2- First grade teacher – Teacher in a very upper class district with a no-nonsense principal; yikes!
Offer 3- Basic Skills Language Arts Literacy Teacher for a K-5 school.

Offer 1 was easy for me to turn down as I stated in a previous entry.  Offer 2 was intimidating in terms of the superintendent, principal, and the large amount of money offered.  Offer 3 was reasonable in monetary terms (though slightly less than Offer 2), and appealing in terms of community, staff, and job type.

The decision required very little thought.  I chose Offer 3.

I am already thrilled with this decision.  The other Basic Skills Language Arts Literacy Teacher has already spoken to me for a great length of time since getting the offer yesterday and has been so kind and welcoming.  I am immensely excited to begin working to set up my classroom over the summer!

Yours with giddiness,
Candid Teacher

 

Leave a comment